If you would like to add a user to a project on the project level in the Enterprise Dashboard, you need to make sure that you have the necessary permissions to do so. Enterprise Admins are the only users who can delete other users from the Enterprise Dashboard.
In order to invite a collaborator to your project on the project level, you need to hold one of these roles for the respective project:

  • Project Admin

  • Project Manager

  • Group Manager (of the group that is assigned to the project)

  • Enterprise Admin 

If you hold one of these roles within the project, you can easily add a new collaborator. Should you NOT hold any of those roles, find out who in your team does and ask them to add the new users for you or to promote you to one of these roles.

With HoloBuilder there are several options to control who has access to a project: 

  • Project privacy settings - learn more

  • Enterprise-wide access management - learn more

  • Project-based access management - Web Editor vs. Enterprise Dashboard (see below)

To invite a user to an individual project you can either do so in the Web Editor (learn more) or in the Enterprise Dashboard of your company (see below).

Please note that you might be limited by your personal company or project role and do not have the right access permission to invite new users. Learn more about permissions in HoloBuilder here. Please contact the project manager, a group manager, or enterprise admin to change your personal permissions if required.

Inviting a new user to a project via the Enterprise Dashboard

In the dashboard, you can invite users to the company dashboard (learn more), a company group (learn more), or only to a single project (see below). 

How to invite selected (new) users

  1. Open the overview of a project by clicking on it in the 'Active' projects view

  2. Press the 'Add Member' button on the right side above the 'Team' field. 



  3. A popup opens in which you enter the role and email of the new user.
    Note: You can add one or multiple user email addresses in the 'Users' field.

  4. Click on 'Add' to add the new user to the project.

How to invite a team or part of a team of another existing project

You can easily add a whole team that already worked a different HoloBuilder project by copying this over to your new project.

Note: For the team you want to invite, you can always edit the members to remove people from the list or change the roles they should have on this new project.

  1. Open the overview of a project by clicking on it in the 'Active' projects view.

  2. Press the 'Add Member' button on the right side above the 'Team' field.



  3. A popup opens in which you can select a project to add the same users of an existing project to this project with the previously specified roles. Choose the corresponding project from the project list 'Add Members from an existing project'.

  4. Select 'Edit Members' to adjust the list of members to be invited. Here you can remove members from the list or modify the role they should get on the new project.

4. Click on 'Add' to add the new user to the project.

Change role/revoke project access

  • To change the role of an invited user for a project, click on the drop down next to the list entry of the corresponding user. 

  • Or, revoke the access completely for a user by hovering over the user's list entry and clicking on the circle icon at the right end of the list entry.

Available project roles

There are 3 different project roles: 

  • Project Viewer: The Project Viewer has permission to view individual projects that are active (not archived or downloaded). She/he has only access to a company project in the web player she/he was invited to as a viewer. The Project Viewer has no editorial permissions whatsoever for the projects she/he is invited to. However, she/he can have a personal subscription to create projects of her/his own unrelated to the company.

  • Project Editor: Has the same permissions as the Project Viewer, as well as the ability to edit the project using the JobWalk app or Web Editor, but cannot change any project settings like adding categories or inviting other users, etc.

  • Project Admin: The Project Admin has the same permissions as the Project Editor, as well ability to change Permissions and Properties on projects including inviting new collaborators
    Note: Project Admins cannot archive the project.

Note: There is a fourth 'Project Owner' indirect role which cannot be changed and is attached to the initial creator of the project.

What might also interest you

Did this answer your question?